Botanic Garden

The Botanic Garden of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU) has been designed to function as an educational and scientific garden. It encompasses a broad spectrum of horticultural variety (including mosses, ferns, and seed plants) and contributes to the research and preservation of this diversity. In the regional context, the garden is actively participating in the preservation of the rare flora of Rhineland-Palatinate. By cultivating endangered species and demonstrating their significance, the JGU Botanic Garden helps promote the protection of plant habitats. At the national level, the garden is active within the German Association of Botanic Gardens (Verband Botanischer Gärten). It is also part of the globalen global network of botanic gardens that have linked up to form the Botanic Gardens Conservation International (BGCI)

Thanks to the advantageous location in the mild and relatively dry climate of the surrounding wine-growing region plants that require a warmer environment can be grown outdoors in the JGU Botanic Garden over the whole year. To complement the reproduction of the Mainz Sand Flora, a new section themed around the region of the steppes of Europe has been created over the last few years. Other high points of the collection include the families of flowering plants, the trees and shrubs of the temperate zone of the northern hemisphere, temperate plants from the Mediterranean climate zones and the southern hemisphere as well as tropical and subtropical agricultural crops. A special themed Plants of the Orient collection is currently being formed. The main focus in the greenhouses is on the different forms and species of tropical plants and their relationships with one another. JGU's Botanic Garden also maintains one of Europe's largest research collections of plants of the genus Salvia or sage.

The Botanic Garden is a fundamental component of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and serves the realization of its Mission Statement. By means of tours, exhibitions, and special events, the Botanic Garden strives to inform the general public about botanical diversity and its importance. Last but not least, the JGU Botanic Garden is a place to ponder and relax on the central university campus and also provides a semi-natural habitat for wildlife in an urban environment.

Plant of the month Plant of the month

The Bitter Orange (Citrus x aurantium) is one of the oldest plants in the Botanic Garden.


Davida - Taschentuchbaum

The design of the Botanic Garden's Logo was inspired by the inflorescence of Davidia involucrata.


Zum Inhalt der Seite springen Zur Navigation der Seite springen

Botanischer Garten

Der Botanische Garten der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität ist ein wissenschaftlicher Garten. Er hat zum Ziel, ein möglichst breites Spektrum der Vielfalt der Pflanzen (Moose, Farne und Samenpflanzen) zu repräsentieren und zur Erforschung und Erhaltung dieser Vielfalt beizutragen. Regional setzt sich der Garten für die Bewahrung der seltenen Pflanzen von Rheinland-Pfalz ein. Durch die Kultur bedrohter Arten und die Erläuterung ihres Stellenwertes, versucht er einen Beitrag zum Schutz ihrer Lebensräume zu leisten. Auf nationaler Ebene engagiert sich der Garten im Verband Botanischer Gärten. Zudem ist er Teil des globalen Netzwerkes Botanischer Gärten, die im BGCI (Botanic Gardens Conservation International) zusammengeschlossen sind.

Durch die günstige Lage im milden und relativ trockenen Weinbauklima können im Botanischen Garten der Universität Mainz viele wärmeliebende Pflanzen das ganze Jahr im Freiland kultiviert werden. Ergänzend zu einer Nachbildung der "Mainzer Sand-Flora" entstand in den vergangen Jahren der neue Themenbereich Steppengebiete Europas. Weitere Schwerpunkte der Sammlungen bilden die Familien der Blütenpflanzen, Gehölze der gemäßigten Zone der Nordhemisphäre, Kalthauspflanzen der mediterranen Klimazonen und der Südhemisphäre sowie tropische und subtropische Nutzpflanzen. In den Gewächshäusern stehen neben verwandtschaftlichen Kriterien die unterschiedlichen Wuchs- und Lebensformen tropischer Pflanzen im Mittelpunkt. Zudem unterhält der Botanische Garten der Universität Mainz eine der größten Forschungssammlungen der Gattung Salbei (Salvia) in Europa.

Der Botanische Garten ist ein vitaler Bestandteil der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität und orientiert sich an deren Leitbild. Durch Führungen, Ausstellungen und Sonderveranstaltungen vermittelt der Botanische Garten das Wissen über pflanzliche Vielfalt und ihre Bedeutung einer breiten Öffentlichkeit. Nicht zuletzt ist der Garten ein Ort der Muse und Entspannung auf dem Campus der Universität und naturnaher Lebensraum in einem städtisch geprägten Umfeld.

 

Index Seminum des Botanischen Gartens der Universität Mainz
Illustration

Botanische Gärten sind seit mehr als 300 Jahren durch den Austausch von Samenkatalogen (Indices Seminum) miteinander verbunden. Für viele Gärten ist dies die wichtigste Quelle für den Erhalt und Ausbau ihrer Pflanzensammlungen. Die Weitergabe von Pflanzenmaterial erfolgt ausschließlich zu nicht-kommerzieller Nutzung in Forschung, Bildungsarbeit oder Naturschutz unter strenger Beachtung der Biodiversitäts-Konvention (CBD).

Der Botanische Garten der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität gibt seit 1950 einen Index Seminum heraus, der aktuell an etwa 400 Botanische Gärten weltweit verschickt wird. Bestellungen von Privatpersonen oder kommerziellen Interessenten sind nicht möglich: Index Seminum 2017 | Hortus Botanicus Universitatis Moguntinae  (855 KB)